On September 8, 2017, Canada announced free trade agreement exploratory discussions with the 10 Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) countries (Cambodia, Brunei, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam).  An ASEAN-Canada free trade agreement is possible and the timing is opportune (with the United States leaving the TPP).

The ASEAN Countries and Canada issued a Joint Statement and Global Affairs Canada issued a press release.