On November 4, 2015, the Trudeau Government was sworn into power at Rideau Hall (that is where Canada’s Governor General lives) in Ottawa.  Prime Minister Justin Trudeau appointed his Cabinet (orders-in-council and regulations are promulgated by this group of law-makers).USA lawyers should know the following about the new Ministers (many are similar to US Secretaries, except they are all elected officials):

1. The new Minister of International Trade is Chrystia Freeland. Ms Freeland has written two books – Plutocrats: The Rise of the New Global Super-Rich and the Fall of Everyone Else in 2012 and Sale of the Century.  I suggest that US trade lawyers read these books.  Ms. Freeland also is a former journalist.  Ms. Freeland speaks many languages, including Russian and Ukrainian.

2. The new Minister of Foreign Affairs is Stéphane Dion: Mr. Dion was previously Prime Minister and leader of the Liberal Party (after PM Paul Martin).  Mr. Dion will likely not be as ideological as John Baird and unilateral economic sanctions may not be his preferred approach to world issues.

3. The new Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness is Ralph Goodale.  The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness overseas the Canada Border Services Agency. Mr. Goodale held position in previous Liberal governments.  He understands the issue of security.

4.  The new Minister of Environment and Climate Change is Catherine McKenna.  Ms. McKenna is a lawyer.  I do not wish to be disrespectful to her in my next comment – I must keep it authentic.  The most interesting aspect of her appointment is the name change of the Ministry itself – the Ministry now has “Climate Change” in the name.  Words must have meaning – no? I think that Ms. McKenna will be taking Canada in a different direction in a few weeks in Paris.

5. The new Minister of Justice is Jody Wilson-Raybould.  Ms. Wilson-Raybould has an impressive resume; but it is who she is that is very interesting. Ms. Wilson-Raybould’s ancestors are Kwakwaka’wakw, one of Canada’s indigenous peoples.

6. The new Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development is Navdeep Bains.  Mr. Bains holds the portfolio that used to be known as Minister of Industry (portfolio includes Industry Canada).  I know Mr. Bain and he is very intelligent and personable. His Deparment will be responsible for the new Investment Canada reviews under the Canada-EU CETA and the TPP.

7. Half of the Cabinet positions are women.  This is because there are many capable women who ran for the Liberal Party and were elected.

8. Many of the Ministers are young.  Prime Minister Trudeau is 43 years old (he will be 44 on Christmas Day). But, do not underestimate them – young people have more energy – the world will have to keep up.

9. The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada is now called Global Affairs Canada.

10. Citizenship and Immigration Canada is now called Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada.

11. Industry Canada is now called Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

12. Public Works and Government Services Canada is now called Public Services and Procurement Canada.

13. Environment Canada is now called Environment and Climate Change Canada.

The complete list of Cabinet is:

Justin Trudeau – Prime Minister, Intergovernmental Affairs and Youth

Bill Morneau – Minister of Finance

Stéphane Dion – Minister of Foreign Affairs

Chrystia Freeland – Minister of International Trade

Harjit Sajjan – Minister of National Defence

Ralph Goodale – Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Navdeep Bains – Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

Catherine McKenna – Minister of Environment and Climate Change

Jody Wilson-Raybould – Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

John McCallum – Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship

Marc Garneau – Minister of Transport

Hunter Tootoo – Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and Canadian Coast Guard

Marie-Claude Bibeau – Minister of International Development and La francophonie

Judy Foote – Minister of Public Services and Procurement

Diane Lebouthillier – Minister of National Revenue

Scott Brison – Treasury Board President

Dominic Leblanc – Leader of the Government in the House of Commons

Lawrence MacAulay – Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Jane Philpott – Minister of Health

Jean-Yves Duclos – Minister of Families, Children and Social Development

Jim Carr – Minister of Natural Resources

Mélanie Joly – Minister of Heritage

Carolyn Bennett – Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

Kent Hehr – Minister of Veterans Affairs, and Associate Minister of National Defence

MaryAnn Mihychuk – Minister of Employment Workforce Development and Labour

Amarjeet Sohi – Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

Maryam Monsef – Minister of Democratic Institutions

Carla Qualtrough – Minister of Sport, and Persons with Disabilities

Kirsty Duncan – Minister of Science

Patricia Hajdu – Minister of Status of Women

Bardish Chagger – Minister of Small Business and Tourism